Bayern Munichs Lewandowski wins Best Fifa mens award

- BBC News

Bayern Munichs Lewandowski wins Best Fifa mens award

Bayern Munich and Poland striker Robert Lewandowski was named 2021 Best Fifa Mens Player of the Year, while Manchester Uniteds Cristiano Ronaldo landed the special award.

Lewandowski, 33, claimed the top prize for the second consecutive year after scoring 69 goals.

He beat Paris St-Germains Lionel Messi and Liverpools Mohamed Salah to the award.

Ronaldo was recognised for becoming the all-time top international goalscorer.

Barcelonas Alexia Putellas won the Best Fifa Womens Player of the Year.

Lewandowski broke the late Gerd Mullers 49-year record for scoring the most Bundesliga goals in a calendar year with 43 in 34 league appearances.

Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel won the award for the Fifa Best mens coach for guiding Chelsea to their second Champions League title after only joining the club in January.

Tottenhams Erik Lamela won the Fifa Puskas award, which recognises the best goal in world football during the year, after his rabona finish in the north London derby against Arsenal last March.

Chelseas Edouard Mendy won the award for the Best Fifa mens goalkeeper after a successful first season with the club, including a clean sheet in the 1-0 win over Manchester City in the Champions League final.

The Denmark national team and their staff won the Best Fifa fair play award for their swift response after Christian Eriksen collapsed on the field during the Euro 2020 game with Finland.

On a successful night for Chelsea, Emma Hayes also won the award for the Best Fifa womens coach as her side won a treble of domestic trophies.

As for the collective awards, Manchester Citys Ruben Dias and Kevin de Bruyne joined Chelseas NGolo Kante and Jorginho, and Manchester Uniteds Ronaldo, in the Best Fifa mens team of the year.

While two-time mens winner Ronaldo was given the special award and included in the best XI, the Portugal captain was omitted from the shortlist for the individual prize for the first time since its inception.

Male XI: Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan/PSG/Italy), David Alaba (Bayern Munich/Real Madrid/Austria), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus/Italy), Ruben Dias (Man City/Portugal), Kevin de Bruyne (Man City/Belgium), Jorginho (Chelsea/Italy), NGolo Kante (Chelsea/France), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Man Utd/Portugal), Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund/Norway), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/PSG/Argentina).

More to follow.

Read it all at BBC News